Monday, 1 August 2016

Various - Hypercolour Remixes Vol. 1 (HYPEDIGCD09) [clips] by Hypercolour

1. Maya Jane Coles – Something In The Air (Bonobo Remix) 2. Kris Wadsworth – Mainline (Jimmy Edgar Remix) 3. Luke Vibert – Stabs Of Regret (Falty DL Remix) 4. Glimpse & Martin Dawson – Fat Controller (Roman Flugel Remix) 5. Shenoda – All Ears (Mr. G Remix) 6. Kerrier District – Techno Disco (KiNK Remix) 7. Mark Henning – The Right Time (Chris Simmonds Remix) 8. Tom Demac – Critical Distance Pt 2 (Hrdvision Remix) 9. George FitzGerald – Every Inch (Deetron Remix) 10. Maxxi Soundsystem – Regrets We Have No Use For (Matthew Herbert Remix) Hypercolour enters its 10th year in possibly the rudest health it has ever been in. With an extensive catalogue spanning house, techno, electronica and disco, with rave and breaks jostling for a place in its wide palette of output, the label takes time to reflect on many of the top drawer remixes that have been commissioned over the last ten years. The compilation kicks off with the super smooth Bonobo remix of Maya Jane Coles’ “Something In The Air”; a version that cinematically sweeps over you, its rising melodies and tight percussions making this a standout job from the Ninja Tunes artist. Brooklyn’s FaltyDL came correct with a stunning breaks version of “Stabs Of Regret” (a track featured on Vibert’s Ridmik album) and this is included here alongside another Vibert cut, this time from Kerrier District, and the simply massive KiNK remix of “Techno Disco”. The heavyweight names continue, with contributions and fine remix work from the likes of Mr. G, Matthew Herbert, Roman Flugel and Deetron. An eclectic and varied collection then of some of the remix highlights that the label have offered up over the years, and proof that the art of the remix is still very much alive and kicking!

No comments:

Post a Comment